The Baltimore Orioles are taking on the New York Yankees today in what is sure to be an exciting game. And if you’re looking for a place to grab a beer and watch the game, CVP Towson is the place for you. But, what can you drink if you have a gluten allergy, are gluten-intolerant, or are just on a gluten free diet? Many foods and beverages contain gluten, including some alcoholic drinks.
What is Gluten?
Gluten refers to proteins found in wheat and certain grains. So, as you can imagine, gluten is found in most beers. For those of us who are gluten-intolerant, meaning our bodies produce an abnormal immune response when breaking down gluten, this can often make it difficult to out and enjoy a drink with friends. Fortunately, there are plenty of liquors and beers that are now gluten free. You just have to know what to look for!
What Can I Drink If I Have A Gluten Allergy?
- While most beers are not gluten free (beers made with hops and barley are off limits. Period.), several brewers have started creating gluten-free options. Just be sure to check the label!
- Another great option for the gluten-intolerant is hard cider, such as Angry Orchard and Woodchuck. Because these drinks are fermented from fruit, they rarely contain wheat gluten.
- Wine is also a gluten free option, because it is made from grapes. As if you needed another reason to love wine!
- Champagne and sparkling wines are also made from grapes and gluten-free.
- Finally, most hard liquors are safe, even the ones distilled from gluten grains. This is because the distillation process removes all of the gluten protein molecules responsible for your allergic reactions. In fact, the National Institutes of Health’s Celiac Disease Awareness Campaign states that all distilled alcohol is gluten-free, regardless of its original source.
CVP Towson offers several gluten free options. Just ask your bartender!
What is Gluten? LiveScience.com